Awards Season: Honors in Store for Jack Lenor Larsen, Thomas Woltz, Annie Leibovitz, Fern Mallis

(Photos: Roberto Dutesco, courtesy Thomas Woltz, Paul Gilmore, David S. Rubin)

It’s almost time to spring ahead, into a fresh season of honoring distinguished achievements in art and design. Let’s start with the New York School of Interior Design, which on April 18 will present a lifetime achievement award to textile whiz and all-around design star Jack Lenor Larsen and bestow its inaugural Thomas N. Armstrong III Award in landscape design upon Thomas Woltz of Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architects (projects include the Peggy Guggenheim Sculpture Garden in Venice). Meanwhile, the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, has chosen Annie Leibovitz as the recipient of this year’s MOCA Award to Distinguished Women in the Arts. The photographer will join the ranks of past honorees such as Twyla Tharp, Yoko Ono, and Barbara Kruger. And speaking of distinguished women, Fern Mallis will be honored with the Pratt Institute Fashion Industry Lifetime Achievement Award at an April 26 show of designs by graduating seniors. Calvin Klein will present the award to Mallis, the creator of New York Fashion Week, former executive director of the Council of Fashion Designers of America, and former senior vice president of IMG Fashion.