Best of USA Today 2008 Winners Announced

USA Today announced their “Best of 2008” awards yesterday. The awards are presented to outstanding staffers in a variety of categories. See the 2008 winners below:
Staffer of the Year
Winner: Lee Horwich – for outstanding multiplatform coverage of the historic Presidential election.
Impact Award
Winner: Cynthia Robinson – for managing deadlines while accommodating Editorial needs.
Across the USA
Winner: Team that produced the 50-state Report on High Gas Prices
Blogs and Community
Winners (tie): Gene Sloan for the online cruise community and Bill Keveney and Bruce Schwartz for their groundbreaking “Lost” package
Winner: Gary Stoller for his guide to airline fees
Winners (tie): David Lynch for his package about the economic crisis and lessons learned from Japan’s experiences in the 1990s and the Money team for their coverage of the financial meltdown on Wall Street
Major Events
Winners(tie): Political team that produced our up-to-the-minute election coverage that was rich with detail, color and analysis both in print and online & Life entertainment team that contributed to our multidimensional and entertaining Oscar package
Winner: Dan Carney for his editorials on the presidential race and “Who’s responsible for the nation’s economic mess?”
Winner: Gregg Zoroya for his scoop revealing that the Pentagon had deployed 43,000 troops to Iraq and Afghanistan that were declared “medically unfit for combat”
The rest of the winners after the jump.

Winner: Jodi Upton and the Team that produced the first-ever database project on academic majors
Graphics, Photo and Layout
Winner: Juan Thomassie, Lee Horwich, Cat Camia and Carlos Roig for their efforts in developing the Candidate Match Game
Great Reads
Winner: Rick Hampson, Charles Levinson, Andrea Stone and Gregg Zoroya for their compelling stories of soldiers, civilians and families five years after being touched by the war in Iraq
Winner: Eugene Kiely and Ken Dilanian’s report on lobbyists’ growing use of Capitol Hill town homes to entertain members of Congress and circumvent bans on gifts, meals and travel
Special Sections
Winner: The Sports team that produced the Yankee Stadium special section
Spot News
Winner: Money’s coverage of the Fannie Mae/Freddie Mac story
Winner: Garrett Hubbard, Gregg Zoroya and Rhyne Piggott for the video and story about brain injury treatment at Landstuhl Regional Medical Center in Germany
Winners: Brad Heath, Linda Mathews and Blake Morrison for “The Smokestack Effect: Toxic Air and America’s Schools” and Kevin McCoy and Erik Brady for their series on how pharmacy errors can endanger the public

Publish date: April 15, 2009 © 2020 Adweek, LLC. - All Rights Reserved and NOT FOR REPRINT