Facebook released a feature Tuesday that gives users an easy way to clean up older posts on their profiles, either by archiving them so that only the author can see them, or by deleting them altogether.
The social network’s new Manage Activity tool will begin rolling out on its flagship mobile applications Tuesday, with plans to extend it to desktop and to lightweight mobile app Facebook Lite in the future.
Posts that are sent to the trash will remain there for 30 days before they are permanently deleted, unless users choose to manually delete or restore them before such time.
The Manage Activity tool also enables people to perform these actions in bulk, and users can sort their old content through filters including dates, people tagged and content type (text status update, photo, video).
Facebook said in a Newsroom post, “Whether you’re entering the job market after college or moving on from an old relationship, we know things change in people’s lives, and we want to make it easy for you to curate your presence on Facebook to more accurately reflect who you are today. That’s why we’re launching Manage Activity to help you archive or trash old posts, all in one place.”