Mirror, Mirror: Big Fish Dominate Media Beat Awards

The Mirror Awards, begun in 2006 with the intention of honoring the work of media beat writers and Web sites, have proven a good forum for the industry to honor reporters and columnists like Times columnist David Carr, the New Yorker‘s Ken Auletta, and Joe Strupp over at Editor & Publisher. All three got their annual nods (three for three guys!), and this year’s finalists are, again, pretty much all pulled from big media companies. Out of 140 entries, 12 of the 29 nominees hail from Conde Nast. There are a couple unconventional picks, but despite the fact that there are plenty of excellent smaller players these days on the media criticism beat, most came from the big guys. Regardless, congrats to all.
Full list of nominees after the jump…

* Best Single Article — Traditional
* Eric Alterman, “Out of Print” (The New Yorker)
* Ken Auletta, “The Search Party” (The New Yorker)
* Seth Mnookin,”Bloomberg Without Bloomberg” (Vanity Fair)
* Clive Thompson, “Is the Tipping Point Toast?” (Fast Company)
* Best Single Article — Digital
* David Kamp, “Requiem for a Micro-celebrity” (Vanity Fair)
* Julia M. Klein, “Tribulations at Tribune’ (Conde Nast Portfolio)
* Rachel Sklar, “The NYT‘s Selective, Misleading Pentagon Story” (The Huffington Post)
* Best Profile — Traditional
* Mark Bowden, “The Angriest Man in Television” (The Atlantic)
* Mark Bowden, “Mr. Murdoch Goes to War” (The Atlantic)
* Lloyd Grove, “The Last Media Tycoon” (Conde Nast Portfolio)
* Charlie LeDuff, “Robert Frank’s Unsentimental Journey” (Vanity Fair)
* Ian Parker, “The Bright Side” (The New Yorker)
* Richard Perez-Pena, “Web Sites That Dig for News Rise as Watchdogs” (The New York Times)
* Evgenia Peretz, “James Frey’s Morning After” (Vanity Fair)
* Best Commentary — Traditional
* David Carr (The New York Times)
* Noam Cohen (The New York Times)
* Jon Fine (BusinessWeek)
* Ben Grossman (Broadcasting & Cable)
* Frazier Moore (Associated Press)
* Michael Wolff (Vanity Fair)
* Best Commentary — Digital
* Eric Alterman (Center for American Progress)
* Megan Garber (Columbia Journalism Review)
* Dan Kennedy (Northeastern University School of Journalism, Writing for The Guardian)
* Rachel Sklar (The Huffington Post)
* Joe Strupp (Editor and Publisher)
* Clive Thompson (Wired.com)
* Best In-depth Piece — Traditional
* David Barstow, “Behind TV Analysts, Pentagon’s Hidden Hand” and “One Man’s Military-Industrial-Media Complex” (The New York Times)
* Seth Mnookin, “The New York Times‘ Lonely War” (Vanity Fair)
* On the Media, “Brand China” (WNYC New York Public Radio)
Due to a lack of response to the categories of Best In-depth Piece — Digital and Best Profile — Digital, entries in those categories were incorporated into other categories.

Publish date: April 22, 2009 https://stage.adweek.com/digital/mirror-mirror-big-fish-dominate-media-beat-awards/ © 2020 Adweek, LLC. - All Rights Reserved and NOT FOR REPRINT