MSG Network and WNBC Top the Nominees for New York Emmys

With 57 nominations, MSG Network leads the pack at the New York Emmy Awards. WNBC/Channel 4 tops the over-the-air outlets with 50 nods.

A look at some of the nominations for the April 1st gala:

For Best Morning Newscast, the nominees include WNYW/Channel 5’s Good Day New York, WNBC’s Today in New York, WABC/Channel 7, and WPIX/Channel 11, which had 36 nominations overall.

For newscast of 35 minutes or less, Spanish stations WXTV/41 notched four nominations, while Channel 47/WNJU had one. The other nomination goes to WNBC, for the death of Osama bin Laden.

In the longer newscast category, WPIX and WCBS had two nods each. WABC and WNYW also are recognized.

For breaking news, WCBS is nominated for the Yonkers scaffold rescue. WCBS was chosen for coverage of the Brooklyn boy’s murder. WNBC is showcased for Hurricane Irene, while WNYW gets the nod for reporting on a tornado touching down in New York.

In the category of  On-Camera, news anchor, New York City is represented by three of the four selections: Chris Wragge and

Kristine Johnson/WCBS and Ken Rosato/WABC.

As for the weather anchor nominees, only WCBS’ Lonnie Quinn broadcasts in the five boroughs.

For Best Sports Anchor,  WNBC’s Bruce Beck is joined by Bob Lorenz of the YES Network, and MSG’ Steve Cangialosi for his work on the New Jersey Devils.

The general assignment reporter category includes Andrew Siff and Pei-Sze Chang of WNBC and Sean Hennessey of WCBS.

For investigative reporter, the nominees include WABC’s Sarah Wallace and Chris Glorioso of WNBC.

In the category of live reporting, among the nominees are Antwan Lewis and John Huddy of WNYW, Josh Einiger of WABC, and Kristin Thorne of WCBS.

As for sports reporter: WNBC’s Beck is nominated along with Kevin Burkhardt of SNY, Mario Diaz of WPIX, and the venerable Stan Fischler of MSG.

WPIX’s commentator/editorialists Larry Mendte and Lionel are nominated with three others in that category.

Sports Play-by-Play nominees this year are: Gary Cohen/SNY, Howie Rose/MSG Plus, Ian Eagle/YES Network, Mike “Doc” Emrick/MSG Plus, and the man who succeeded Emrick on Devils broadcasts, Steve Cangialosi.

For Sports Analyst: nominees include Keith Hernandez/SNY and John Flaherty/YES.

Publish date: February 16, 2012 © 2020 Adweek, LLC. - All Rights Reserved and NOT FOR REPRINT