Twitter: Here’s How to Turn Off Read Receipts

Stop users from knowing you've seen their messages

Did you know that Twitter allows you to turn off read receipts so that users won’t know when you’ve seen their direct messages? Here’s how to turn off read receipts from within the Twitter mobile application.

Note: These screenshots were captured in the Twitter app on iOS.

Step 1: Tap your profile picture in the top-left corner of the screen.

Step 2: Tap “Settings and privacy.”

Step 3: Tap “Privacy and safety.”

Step 4: Tap the toggle next to “Show read receipts” to stop users from being able to see when you’ve read their DMs. Note: When you turn off read receipts, you also won’t be able to see when your messages have been read by others.

Recommended articles